Super Special Snowy Saturday post

We’re out at the farm this weekend and it’s all snowy and blowy and stuff.

This was around 8 am. It had just started snowing.

This was around 8 am. It had just started snowing.

And this is around 11 am. There's a little more snow.

And this is around 11 am. There’s a little more snow.

I’m sitting here with three dogs who are currently melting on the rug because we just finished a rousing game of Shovelful of Snow TO THE FACE, a supremely fun wintertime activity, and Gabe who is playing with his tablet, his laptop, and the TV because he is just so excited that there’s internet in the house.

Much like Shovel of Snow TO THE FACE is fun, so is SNOWBALLS IN THE AIR! It's an awesome game.

Much like Shovel of Snow TO THE FACE is fun, so is SNOWBALLS IN THE AIR! It’s an awesome game.

See? Snow is the best plaything ever.

See? Snow is the best plaything ever.

I haven’t lost any chickens, though there’s always a chance there will be a yeti attack in the night.

Neither rain nor wind nor sleet nor snow will stop these gals from laying eggs.

Neither rain nor wind nor sleet nor snow will stop these gals from laying eggs.

This is what is going on outside while the girls are inside clucking under their heat lamp, getting a tan.

This is what is going on outside while the girls are inside clucking under their heat lamp, getting a tan.

And because it's all windy and stuff, there are drifts.

And because it’s all windy and stuff, there are drifts.

Diego the horse, the one who made out with me all last summer, is being a total jerk and pretending he doesn’t even know me and Buttercup, the donkey, is covered in ice because someone keeps kicking her out of the barn (I’m looking at you, Llama Face)

These two are all, "GIT OUTTA MY BARN!" and then everyone else has to sit around in the wind and ice.

These two are all, “GIT OUTTA MY BARN!” and then everyone else has to sit around in the wind and ice.

See? Poor Buttercup! If I thought she'd come with, I'd bring her in and put her in the bathtub to drip dry. I'm not sure that would work well for anyone, but at least she wouldn't be covered in icicles. That llama is mean. (Actually, she's out here because I'm out here and she thinks I have treats. And I did have treats. And she got some)

See? Poor Buttercup! If I thought she’d come with, I’d bring her in and put her in the bathtub to drip dry. I’m not sure that would work well for anyone, but at least she wouldn’t be covered in icicles. That llama is mean. (Actually, she’s out here because I’m out here and she thinks I have treats. And I did have treats. And she got some)

I feel very sorry for everyone who has to deal with the snow but isn’t doing it here (which means, everyone who is not Gabe, the three melting dogs and me) because this is the prime blizzardy place to be. There are scads of tea options, there are buckets o’ soup, and there are big windows everywhere so we can watch the snow fly by while staying warm. And melting all over the rug.

Happy snowy day to all of you from the comfort and warmth of the farm. Sorry you can’t be me.

10 Comments

Filed under Adventures, In someone else's backyard

10 responses to “Super Special Snowy Saturday post

  1. I seriously am sorry I can’t be you! Being a CA girl, I’m not a huge fan of snow and cold, but this barn setting just seems so magical! Also, Shovelful of Snow TO THE FACE sounds hilariously fun. I have to settle with Hose Water To The Face of mini doxies, which isn’t nearly as satisfying.

    • Haha! These dogs LOVE Hose Water to the Face in the summer time! Man, if we lived closer, I’d set up a play date. We’d have to get your guys some stilts, or something, cuz these guys are huge, but it would work out.

  2. When it snows, I go grab my son, and make him snuggle me in bed. Warm, sleepy babies are also nice…. though you seem to have had a good time!

    • Ok, I will admit that sleeping babies are the best sleep aid EVER. Even better than a purring cat.
      Maybe that’s what I should start doing when I’m being kept awake by my evil family – go find someone’s baby and lie down on the floor with it and put it on my chest and BAM! I’ll be out like a light! I won’t even notice when it spits up on me.
      This is a great idea! Thanks!

  3. Is Buttercup a small donkey? She may classify as a frozen burrito.
    That snow looks awesome, and I’m loving seeing it on a computer screen from a distance of 13,000 kilometres and a year and a half away. Brrr.

Don't be shy! I'd love to get a comment from you! Maybe one or maybe two-

